Carer for Special Needs 10yr old boy
NZ Recruit
Glendowie, AUK
6d ago
source : ExploreJobs

Our son Jack is a happy little boy who needs help with everything! He has Phelan-McDermid Syndrome which causes development delays.

Both Dad and I work, we need someone who we will be leaning on quite strongly as we can't just walk out of work if things are hard.

You are going to become an integral part of our family, who will be needed to do extra things like take Jack to the doctor or go shopping.

There is no set formula for a special needs family, but we want someone who understands that while our kids are a little different and definitely need more attention, at the end of the day they love just as hard as everyone else, and need to be loved and accepted in return.

Qualifications & experienceExperience with high needs / special needs children helpful.Experience with feeding, medicines, toileting, mobility / lifting / dressing disabled children / people helpful.

Experience with therapy, orthopaedic / mobility equipment, being a part of the child's therapy / learning activities to enable them to become more independent helpful.

Full drivers licence a must, with own reliable car. Car seat will be provided and loan of disabled parking permit when required.

Car needs space to fit oversized stroller or wheelchair. Sedan boot / trunk not an option for the wheelchair.Experience dealing with sensory sensitivity and managing outbursts.

Managing behavioural situations.Must be patient, a problem solver as much as having fun.Tasks & responsibilitiesMeeting Jack at home - he is dropped off by taxi around 2 : 45pmPreparing / cooking all meals and food.

Preparation of school lunches for the next day.Housework associated with Child's care, laundry, cleaning kitchen, toys, all of the Childs areasAssistance with feeding, toileting, bathing, dressing, some mobility assistance - can only walk with assistance.

Lifting required with bathing. Child weighs approx 26kgAfter school activities such as going for walks to the large parks, beach, zoo visits, play centres etc.

Driving will be required.Care of Jack when sick. Collect from school if ill, and take to doctors / dentist / chiropractor if required.

Some grocery shopping will be required, budget supplied.Jack is non-verbal, so need to use PODD communication device. Experience with therapy would be good, and taking part in therapy process at home.

Helping Jack to become as independent as possible.

Report this job
checkmark

Thank you for reporting this job!

Your feedback will help us improve the quality of our services.

Apply
My Email
By clicking on "Continue", I give neuvoo consent to process my data and to send me email alerts, as detailed in neuvoo's Privacy Policy . I may withdraw my consent or unsubscribe at any time.
Continue
Application form